Silver Jubilee

Jubilee is a great word.  Everyone should have a Jubilee from time to time.  It smacks of a celebration, a party, marking a milestone.  Silver is for 25 years.  Tonight I have a college reunion and it is a silver jubilee. I’ll get to meet my pals from DCU business school graduating class of 1990.

Wait a minute!  Whaaaat?  25 years?  Where did that go?

I was supposed to be a millionaire before I was 30.  I had all these plans to circumnavigate the world in my 70 foot yacht with a stable on board for my racehorse.  Where did they go?

Well, along came three mini-me & Louises.  Instead of a yacht we spent our cash on ballet lessons, Irish dancing lessons, music lessons, tennis lessons, golf lessons.  There was the Gaelic club, the Rugby, the basketball.  Golf clubs are pretty expensive.  How many recorders and tin whistles did we buy over the last 20 years?  The clothes, the shoes, the boots, the books, the petrol and the time.

So, would I trade one day of it for the Yacht?

Sonnet 64: by William Shakespeare

When I have seen by Time’s fell hand defac’d
The rich proud cost of outworn buried age;
When sometime lofty towers I see down-ras’d
And brass eternal slave to mortal rage;
When I have seen the hungry ocean gain
Advantage on the kingdom of the shore,
And the firm soil win of the wat’ry main,
Increasing store with loss and loss with store;
When I have seen such interchange of state,
Or state itself confounded to decay;
Ruin hath taught me thus to ruminate,
That Time will come and take my love away.
This thought is as a death, which cannot choose
But weep to have that which it fears to lose.

Leave a Reply

