Imbolc dawns

Brigid, a triple deity

Brigid, a triple deity

Celtic Spring has arrived with a beautiful soft sunny day here in Cashel.  Just a light frost, but a great feeling that Spring has arrived.  Days are getting longer, mornings are not so dark and soon we will be leaving work before the sun sets.

1st Feb is also St Brigid’s Day of course, because the Catholic Church in Ireland had to replace the Pagan Goddess and patroness of poetry with a cheap Christian copy.

The real Brigid was a goddess of high stuff, like forts, uplands etc.  This translated into lofty pursuits of the mind, psychologically elevated thinking.  Craftsmanship, logic, reasoning, abstract thought etc.  She was similar to goddesses such as Brigantia, Minerva and Athena.

GENEALOGY OF BRIGIT

The genealogy of the holy maiden Brigit,
Radiant arrow of flame, noble foster-mother of gods,
Brigit the daughter of the Dagda,
Dagda the Good God, the son of Ethlinn,
Ethlinn the daughter of Balor,
Balor the king of the Fomoire.

Every day and every night
That I say the genealogy of Brigit,
I shall not be killed, I shall not be injured,
I shall not be enchanted, I shall not be cursed,
Neither shall my power leave me.

No earth, no sod, no turf shall cover me,
No fire, no sun, no moon shall burn me,
No water, no lake, no sea shall drown me,
No air, no wind, no vapour shall sicken me,
No glamour out of Faery shall o’ertake me,
And I under the protection of the holy maiden,
My gentle foster-mother, my beloved Brigit.

-=o0o=-

This site is available for free and I make no money from any ads you see here. If you would like to show your appreciation feel free to leave a comment or you can buy me a coffee! http://buymeacoffee.com/DonalClancy

Leave a comment